THEY WON! Historic grand final for Richmond Range Rugby Club

ABOVE: Coach and player Alex Gibbon, in front, leads the Richmond Range men’s team to the grand final. Photo: Vicky Kerry

Susanna Freymark

When the Richmond Range men’s rugby team defeated Casuarina 20-18 last week they celebrated not only the win but their ticket to the grand final.

Today, Saturday, September 17, Range versus Ballina at Kingsford Smith Park in Ballina. Ranges won 33-12.

The Ranges’ homeground is Mallanganee with players coming from across the area.

This final is historic as the team enters their first ever 2nd Division (2nd Grade and Presidents Cup teams combined) grand final against rival team Ballina Seagulls.

Coach and player Alex Gibbon said it is more than 20 years since the Ranges have made it to a final. That history changed today.

The first and only grand final win was in 1980.

The players in final were:

Blake Birmingham

Michael Macrae

Reece Manning

Jacob Lane

David Lane

Hayden Pratt

Dan Fuhrmann

Nick Crompton

Alex Gibbon

Matt Sorrenti

Brock King

Glen Pollard

Paul Hewetson

Nick Fuhrmann

James Pankhurst

Daniel Sorrenti

Duncan Ryan

James Hewetson

Andrew Robertson

Ben Wheeler

Luke Benn

Nick Benn

After the game there was a grand final celebration at the Tatts in Casino from 6.30pm.

The Tattersalls Hotel Casino is the club’s major sponsor.

Well done, Range.

Like an alert when we add a story? Yes please No thanks