19 signs of old times

ABOVE: Casino & District Historical Society members with council general manager Vaughan Macdonald and Mayor Robert Mustow standing at the back. Photo: Contributed

The 19 historical signs around Casino are complete.

Residents and visitors can follow the sign trail and take an historical walk and learn more about Casino.

Did you know?

In 1854, a bark hut built in East St was the town’s first courthouse and police station.

And in 1859 a doctor arrived in town.

In 1876, a bridge was built across the Richmond River..

The historical sign project was led and funds were raised for it by members of the Casino & District Historical Society.

Richmond Valley Council supported the project by supplying two of the signs, as well as installing all the finished signs throughout the area.

The project was also supported by the State Government and St Mary’s Parish.

Look at the map below and take the walk to learn more about Casino’s history.

Welcome to Richmond Valley and Kyogle news

Install
×
Scroll to Top
Like an alert when we add a story? Yes please No thanks